

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Final Governance & Council Services Committee

Friday, February 19, 2021

9:00 AM

Through Electronic Communications

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

All members of the Committee* were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present: 4 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms and Patrick D.

Tighe

Absent: 3 - Wayne Bokenfohr, Neal Comeau and Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and acknowledged that the Committee meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

*As per sections 6.3 and 6.6 of Bylaw 1471/20, Governance and Council Services Committee Bylaw, Mayor Hnatiw, Deputy Mayor Toms, and Councillor Derouin are the current voting members of the Committee and Councillor Tighe is the current alternate voting member. Quorum was maintained throughout the meeting.

Administration Present Through Electronic Communication

Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 007/21: That the Committee adopt the February 19, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee agenda as presented.

A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 January 13, 2021 Governance and Council Services

Committee Minutes

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 008/21: That the Committee adopt the January 13, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. NEW BUSINESS

CLOSED SESSION - 2020 Chief Administrative Officer **B.1 Annual Performance Evaluation Process**

***Closed session pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 17 (disclosure harmful to personal privacy) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy

Act***

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 009/21: That the Committee move to a closed session at 9:02 a.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 17 (disclosure harmful to personal privacy) of the Freedom of Information and **Protection of Privacy Act.**

Presented by Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services.

The following members of Administration were also in attendance to provide information and/or administrative assistance:

Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services and Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 010/21: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 9:25 a.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 011/21: That the 2020 Chief Administrative Officer annual performance evaluation proceed as discussed in the closed session and that the Briefing Note and attachment of item B.1 of the February 19, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee meeting agenda remain confidential in accordance with section 17 (disclosure harmful to personal privacy) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

C. ADJOURNMENT

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 012/21: That the Committee adjourn the February 19, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee meeting at 9:27 a.m.

MAYOR
 COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO)