

Sturgeon County

Meeting Minutes - Final Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Through Electronic Communications

Immediately Following Regular Council Meeting

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

The following members of the Committee were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present: 7 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr, Neal Comeau, Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the June 8, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting to order at 12:56 p.m. and acknowledged that the Committee meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

Administration Present Through Electronic Communication Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO Scott MacDougall, Chief Operations Officer - COO Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services Sabrina Duquette, Manager, Financial Services Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning and Development Services Lucas Warren, Manager, Corporate Communications Angela Veenstra, Manager, Agriculture Services Christine Bobey, Conservation Program Coordinator, Agriculture Services Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 062/21: That the Committee adopt the June 8, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting Agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 May 25, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 063/21: That the Committee adopt the May 25, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. NEW BUSINESS

B.1 1:00 p.m. Alternative Land Use Services (ALUS) Presentation

Presented by Angela Veenstra, Manager, Agriculture Services; Rhonda King, Western Lead; Christine Campbell, Senior Western Hub Manager; and Karen Snethun, Associate Hub Manager, Alternative Land Use Services.

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 064/21: That the Committee accept the Alternative Land Use Services (ALUS) Presentation as information.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

C. COUNCIL CORRESPONDENCE

C.1	Mayor of Town of Mayerthorpe Re: Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Provincial Policing
C.2	Reeve of Smoky Lake County Re: Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Provincial Policing

Presented by Mayor Hnatiw.

D. ADJOURNMENT

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 065/21: That the Committee adjourn the June 8, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting at 1:26 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MAYOR

COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO)