

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Final Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, August 11, 2020

Through Electronic Communications

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

The following members of the Committee of the Whole were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

7 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr,
 Neal Comeau, Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the August 11, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting to order at 3:03 p.m.

<u>Administration Present Through Electronic Communications</u>

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO
Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO
Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services
Travis Peter, Director, Development Services
Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services
Arjen DeKlerk, Acting Manager, Development Support Services
Hayley Wasylycia, Planning Officer, Development Support Services
Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services
Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 060/20: That the Committee adopt the August 11, 2020 Committee of the Whole Agenda as presented.

A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 July 14, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 061/20: That the Committee adopt the July 14, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. APPOINTMENTS

B.1

3:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Resource Extraction Regulatory Review - Presentation of Draft Reports and Amendment Options

***Closed session pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 062/20: That the Committee move to a closed session at 3:04 p.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Presented by Travis Peter, Director, Development Services; Hayley Wasylycia, Planning Officer, Development Support Services; Ken Venner, Partner, B&A Planning Group; Bridget Honch, Senior Communications & Engagement Specialist, B&A Planning Group; and Heather Chisolm, Senior Planner, B&A Planning Group.

The following members of Administration were also in attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance:

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO; Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services; Arjen DeKlerk, Acting Manager, Development Support Services; Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services; and Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 063/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 4:34 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 064/20: That the Committee direct Administration to provide summaries of engagement findings, best practices, and options to identified Council committees for further initial comment and input.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 065/20: That the Committee direct Administration to bring forward all reports, options for consideration, initial recommendations, and stakeholder engagement next steps at the August 25, 2020 Council meeting.

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 066/20: That the Briefing Note and attachment of item B.1 of the August 11, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting remain confidential in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

C. ADJOURNMENT

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 067/20: That the Committee adjourn the August 11, 2020 Committee of the Whole meeting at 4:44 p.m.

MAYO)F
COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CA	O