

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Final Council

Tuesday, March 31, 2020 9:00 AM Council Chambers

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

All members of Council were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

 7 - Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor Kristin Toms, Councillor Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor Neal Comeau, Councillor Patrick D. Tighe, and Councillor Karen Shaw

A.1 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Hnatiw called the March 31, 2020 Regular Council Meeting to order at 9:02 a.m. and acknowledged that Council meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

Mayor Hnatiw acknowledged this was the inaugural electronic Council meeting, occurring in accordance with measures taken in response to the Public Health Emergency, and asked for patience as Council worked with technology and the changes to the standard practice for Council meetings. She acknowledged the tremendous amount of work done by Administration to get most corporate staff working from home, as well as keeping all fleet and utility staff safely maintaining service levels in the field. Mayor Hnatiw also thanked her fellow Councillors for being very flexible and responsive over the past few weeks.

Administration Present through Electronic Means

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO
Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO
Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services
Travis Peter, Director, Development Services
Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services
Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utilities & Waste Management Services
Pat Mahoney, Fire Chief/Manager, Protective Services
Scott Rodda, Manager, Family and Community Support Services
Madisyn Gabriel, Senior Accountant, Financial Services
Jocelyn Pearce, Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services
Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 143/20: That Council adopt the March 31, 2020 Regular Council Meeting Agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

A.3 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.3.1 March 10, 2020 Regular Council Meeting Minutes

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 144/20: That Council adopt the March 10, 2020 Regular Council Meeting Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

A.3.2 March 13, 2020 Special Council Meeting Minutes

A.3.3 March 24, 2020 Special Council Meeting Minutes

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 145/20: That Council adopt the March 13, 2020 Special Council Meeting Minutes and the March 24, 2020 Special Council Meeting Minutes as presented.

D. NEW BUSINESS

D.1 COVID-19 Administrative Update

Presented by Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO and Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO.

Councillor Comeau left the meeting at 9:53 a.m.

Present: 6 - Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor

Kristin Toms, Councillor Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor Patrick

D. Tighe, and Councillor Karen Shaw

Absent: 1 - Councillor Neal Comeau

D.1 COVID-19 Administrative Update

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 146/20: That Council receive the March 31, 2020

COVID-19 Administrative Update as information.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

D.2 Bylaw 1498/20 - Amendment to Bylaw 1422/18 - Tax

Penalty Bylaw for COVID-19

Presented by Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services and Madisyn Gabriel, Senior Accountant, Financial Services.

Councillor Comeau returned to the meeting at 10:14 a.m.

Present: 7 - Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor

Kristin Toms, Councillor Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor Neal Comeau, Councillor Patrick D. Tighe, and Councillor Karen

Shaw

D.2 Bylaw 1498/20 - Amendment to Bylaw 1422/18 - Tax Penalty Bylaw for COVID-19

K. Shaw MOVED:

Motion 147/20: That Council give first reading of Bylaw 1498/20.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Shaw MOVED:

Motion 148/20: That Council give second reading of Bylaw 1498/20.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Shaw MOVED:

Motion 149/20: That Council consider third reading of Bylaw 1498/20.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Shaw MOVED:

Motion 150/20: That Council give third reading of Bylaw 1498/20.

D.3

Bylaw 1499/20 - Amendment to Bylaw 932/02 - Water Works Bylaw, Bylaw 1402/18 - Sanitary Sewer Bylaw, and Bylaw 1466/19 - 2020 Fees and Charges Bylaw for COVID-19

Presented by Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services and Jocelyn Pearce, Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services.

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 151/20: That Council give first reading of Bylaw 1499/20.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 152/20: That Council give second reading of Bylaw 1499/20.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 153/20: That Council consider third reading of Bylaw 1499/20.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 154/20: That Council give third reading of Bylaw 1499/20.

D.4 Amendment to the Sturgeon Regional Emergency
Management Partnership Agreement

Presented by Pat Mahoney, Fire Chief/Manager, Protective Services.

K. Shaw MOVED:

Motion 155/20: That Council approve the Sturgeon Regional Emergency Management Partnership Agreement as amended.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

D.5 Proclamation of National Volunteer Week 2020

Presented by Scott Rodda, Manager, Family and Community Support Services.

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 156/20: That Council proclaim April 19-25, 2020 as Volunteer Week in Sturgeon County to celebrate the power of volunteerism while ensuring compliance with all Alberta Health Services requirements.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

I. ADJOURNMENT

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 157/20: That Council adjourn the March 31, 2020 Regular Council Meeting at 10:48 a.m.

 MAYOR
 COLINTY COMMISSIONER (CAO)