

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Final Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Through Electronic Communications

Immediately Following Regular Council Meeting

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

All members of the Committee were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

7 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr,
Neal Comeau, Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

Administration Present Through Electronic Communications

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services Tyler Westover, Manager, Economic Development Services Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 076/20: That the Committee adopt the October 13, 2020 Committee of the Whole Agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 September 22, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting

Minutes

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 077/20: That the Committee adopt the September 22, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. APPOINTMENTS

B.1 2:00 p.m. Edmonton Global Presentation

Presented by Mustafa Sahin, Vice President, Investment & Trade; Traci Bednard, Board Member; and Gail Stepanik-Keber, Board Member, Edmonton Global.

Councillor Toms left the meeting at 2:37 p.m.

Councillor Toms returned to the meeting at 2:40 p.m.

Mustafa Sahin, Traci Bednard, and Gail Stepanik-Keber left the meeting at 3:06 p.m.

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 078/20: That the Committee move to a closed a session at 3:07 p.m pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) and section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic or other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The following members of Administration were in attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance:

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner-CAO; Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer-COO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services; Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services; Tyler Westover, Manager, Economic Development Services; Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services; and Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 079/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 3:47 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

C. ADJOURNMENT

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 080/20: That the Committee adjourn the October 13, 2020 Committee of the Whole Meeting at 3:47 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MAYOF
 COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO