

Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, May 26, 2020	1:00 PM	Through Electronic Communications

Immediately Following Regular Council Meeting

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

The following members of the Committee of the Whole were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

- Present:5 -Alanna Hnatiw, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr, Neal
Comeau and Karen Shaw
- Absent: 2 Dan Derouin and Patrick D. Tighe

Mayor Hnatiw called the May 26, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Administration Present through Electronic Means

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services Travis Peter, Director, Development Services Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services Colin Krywiak, Manager, Development Support Services Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility & Waste Management Services Luis Delgado, Acting Manager, Assessment Services Chris Krath, Senior Engineering Officer, Engineering Services Jocelyn Pearce, Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services Michael Klassen, Senior Community Planner, Planning & Regional Services Martyn Bell, Senior Planning & Development Officer, Development Support Services Trenna Benesocky, Corporate Executive Assistant Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 027/20: That the Committee adopt the May 26, 2020 Committee of the Whole Agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 May 12, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes

Councillor Tighe joined the meeting at 1:03 p.m.

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 028/20: That the Committee adopt the May 12, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. APPOINTMENTS

B.1

1:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Land Matter ***Closed Session pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act***

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 029: That the Committee move to a closed session at 1:04 p.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Presented by Jodie Wacko, President, Beaverbrook Communities and Beaverbrook Commercial.

The following members of Administration were also in attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance: Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO; Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Travis Peter, Director, Development Services; Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services; Colin Krywiak, Manager, Development Support Services; Luis Delgado, Acting Manager, Assessment Services; Martyn Bell, Senior Planning & Development Officer, Development Support Services; Jocelyn Pearce, Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services; Chris Krath, Senior Engineering Officer, Engineering Services; Trenna Benesocky, Corporate Executive Assistant; Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services and Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 030/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 2:11 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B.2

2:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Sturgeon Valley Infrastructure Discussion ***Closed Session pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act***

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 031/20: That the Committee move to a closed session at 2:12 p.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Presented by Ken Pacholok, General Manger, WaterWerx Renewables Inc. and Prof. Nicholas J. Ashbolt, Alberta Innovates Translational Health Chair in Water School of Public Health.

The following members of Administration were in also attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance: Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO; Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Travis Peter, Director, Development Services; Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services; Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility & Waste Management Services; Michael Klassen, Senior Community Planner, Planning & Regional Services; Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services; and Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

Councillor Shaw left the meeting at 2:53 p.m.

Councillor Bokenfohr left the meeting at 2:59 p.m.

Present:	4 - Alanna Hnatiw, Kristin Toms, Neal Comeau and Patrick D.
	Tighe

Absent: 3 - Dan Derouin, Wayne Bokenfohr and Karen Shaw

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 032/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 3:38 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B.1 1:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Land Matter
***Closed Session pursuant to section 197(2) of the
Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section
24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and
Protection of Privacy Act***

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 033/20: That the Committee refer the confidential Land Matter to Administration, incorporating comments provided in the closed session.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 034/20: That the Briefing Note and attachments of item B.1 of the May 26, 2020 Committee of the Whole meeting agenda remain confidential in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

2:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Sturgeon Valley Infrastructure Discussion ***Closed Session pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act***

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 035/20: That the Committee refer the confidential Sturgeon Valley Infrastructure Discussion to Administration, incorporating comments provided in the closed session.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Sturgeon County

B.2

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 036/20: That the Briefing note and attachments of item B.2 of the May 26, 2020 Committee of the Whole meeting remain confidential in accordance with section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

C. ADJOURNMENT

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 037/20: That the Committee adjourn the May 26, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting at 3:52 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MAYOR

COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO)