

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Final Organizational Council Meeting

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

1:30 PM

Council Chambers

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Flynn called the Organizational Council Meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

Present

7 - Councillor Ferd Caron, Councillor Susan Evans, Councillor
 Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor Jerry Kaup, Councillor Patrick
 Tighe, Councillor Karen Shaw, and Mayor Tom Flynn

Administration Present

Stephane Labonne, General Manager, Integrated Growth Ian McKay, General Manager, Municipal Services Ed Kaemingh, Acting General Manager, Corporate Services Christine Beveridge, Senior Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

3. ESTABLISHMENT OF THE HOUR, DAY AND PLACE OF MEETINGS

3.1 2017 Regular Council Meeting Schedule

Presented by: Christine Beveridge, Senior Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

K. Shaw MOVED:

Motion 384/16: That Council establish a schedule for the regular Council meetings to commence at 9:00 a.m. in Council Chambers at Sturgeon County Centre, 9613-100 Street, Morinville, generally on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For: 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and

Mayor Flynn

S. Evans MOVED:

Motion 385/16: That Council establish a schedule for the Committee of the Whole meetings to commence immediately following the regular Council meetings held in Council Chambers at Sturgeon County Centre, 9613-100 Street, Morinville, generally on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr,
 Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and
 Mayor Flynn

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 386/16: That Council cancel the following Sturgeon County regular Council meetings:

- Tuesday, July 25, 2017
- Tuesday, August 8, 2017
- Tuesday, December 26, 2017

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

P. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 387/16: That Council schedule additional regular Council meetings on the following dates and times to be held in Council Chambers at Sturgeon County Centre, 9613-100 Street, Morinville, for the 2017 budget meetings:

- Wednesday, November 23, 2016 at 9:00 a.m.
- Thursday, November 24, 2016 at 9:00 a.m.
- Friday, November 25, 2016 at 9:00 a.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

3.2 2017 Municipal Planning Commission Meeting Schedule

Presented by: Christine Beveridge, Senior Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

J. Kaup MOVED:

Motion 388/16: That Council establish a schedule for Municipal Planning Commission meetings to commence at 9:00 a.m. in Council Chambers at Sturgeon County Centre, 9613-100 Street, Morinville, the first and third Tuesday of each month.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 389/16: That Council cancel the following Municipal Planning Commission Meetings

- July 18, 2017
- August 1, 2017
- November 14, 2017
- December 19, 2017

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

S. Evans MOVED:

Motion 390/16: That Council authorize the scheduling of the second Municipal Planning Commission meeting in March 2017 to be held on Monday, March 20, 2017, to accommodate the AAMDC Spring Convention.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

S. Evans MOVED:

Motion 391/16: That Council appoint Councillor Kaup as Chairperson and Mayor Flynn as Vice Chairperson for the Municipal Planning Commission for the 2016/2017 term.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

- 7 Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn
- 3.3 2017 Subdivision and Development Appeal Board Hearing Schedule

Presented by: Christine Beveridge, Senior Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

F. Caron MOVED:

Motion 392/16: That Council establish a schedule for the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board Hearings to commence at 2:00 p.m. in Council Chambers at Sturgeon County Centre, 9613-100 Street, Morinville, the first Tuesday and third Tuesday of each month.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:

 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 393/16: That Council include November 14, 2017 to the list of cancelled Subdivision and Development Board Hearings.

DEFEATED

For: 3 - Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Tighe, and Mayor Flynn

Against: 4 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Kaup, and

Councillor Shaw

F. Caron MOVED:

Motion 394/16: That Council cancel the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board Hearings:

- July 18, 2017

- August 1, 2017

- December 19, 2017

CARRIED

For: 6 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr,

Councillor Kaup, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

Against: 1 - Councillor Tighe

4. APPOINTMENT TO AGENCIES, BOARDS, AND COMMITTEES

4.1 2016/2017 Annual Council Appointments to Boards/Committees/Commissions

Presented by: Christine Beveridge, Senior Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

P. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 395/16: That Council approve the membership list for the 2016/2017 Council appointments to boards, committees and commissions as presented in the attachment titled "Organizational Meeting - Council Board Appointments".

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For: 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

5. ADJOURNMENT

J. Kaup MOVED:

Motion 396/16: That the Organizational Council Meeting be adjourned at 1:54 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For: 7 - Councillor Caron, Councillor Evans, Councillor Bokenfohr, Councillor Kaup, Councillor Tighe, Councillor Shaw, and Mayor Flynn

| MAYOR |
|-------------------------------|
| |
| |
| |
| COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO) |