

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Council

Wednesday, November 17, 2021

1:00 PM

Through Electronic Communications

2022 Budget Meeting

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

The following members of Council were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

 Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Kristin Toms, Councillor Matthew McLennan, Councillor Neal Comeau, and Councillor Deanna Stang

Absent: 1 - Councillor Dan Derouin

A.1 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Hnatiw called the November 17, 2021 Council Meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. and acknowledged that Council meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

<u>Administration Present Through Electronic Communications</u>

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO
Scott MacDougall, Chief Operations Officer - COO
Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services
Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services
Andrew Hayes, Director, Financial, Assessment and Procurement Services
Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility and Waste Management Services
Matthew Chan, Budget and Financial Planner, Financial Services
Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services
Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

The meeting was recessed at 1:05 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 1:10 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

A.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 499/21: That Council adopt the November 17, 2021 Council Meeting Agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. OPENING REMARKS

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO provided opening remarks and a general overview of the proposed 2022 Budget.

C. FINANCIAL OVERVIEW

C.1 Sturgeon County's Financial Picture

Presented by Andrew Hayes, Director, Financial, Assessment, and Procurement Services.

C.2 Budget Breakdown

Presented by Andrew Hayes, Director, Financial, Assessment, and Procurement Services.

Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility and Waste Management Services provided comments on the Proposed Utility Rate Fee for 2022.

The meeting was recessed at 2:17 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 2:26 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

D. CAPITAL PLAN

D.1 Capital Budget

Presented by Scott MacDougall, Chief Operations Officer - COO.

The meeting was recessed at 3:22 p.m. to November 18, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.



Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Council

Thursday, November 18, 2021

9:00 AM

Through Electronic Communications

2022 Budget Meeting

The Council Meeting was reconvened on November 18, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

The following members of Council were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

 Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor Kristin Toms, Councillor Matthew McLennan, and Councillor Deanna Stang

Absent: 1 - Councillor Neal Comeau (joined at 9:03 a.m.)

Administration Present Through Electronic Communications

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO
Scott MacDougall, Chief Operations Officer - COO
Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services
Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services
Andrew Hayes, Director, Financial, Assessment and Procurement Services
Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility and Waste Management Services
Sabrina Duquette, Manager, Financial Services
Pat Mahoney, Manager/Fire Chief, Protective Services
Breda Cormack, Procurement Lead, Financial Services
Matthew Chan, Budget and Financial Planner, Financial Services
Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

Deputy Mayor Comeau joined the meeting at 9:03 a.m.

Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

Present:

 6 - Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor Kristin Toms, Councillor Matthew McLennan, Councillor Neal Comeau, and Councillor Deanna Stang

E. SERVICE ENHANCEMENTS

E.1 Economic Development and Competitiveness

Presented by Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services.

E.2 Infrastructure Management and Modernization

Presented by Scott MacDougall, Chief Operations Officer - COO.

Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility and Waste Management Services provided comments on the Redwater Bulk Water Station - Hose Increase.

The meeting was recessed at 10:58 a.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 11:06 a.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

E.3 Operational Efficiency and Sustainability

Presented by Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services.

Pat Mahoney, Manager/Fire Chief, Protective Services provided comments on the proposed addition of 3 new Firefighters.

Jeff Yanew, Manager, Utility and Waste Management Services, and Sabrina Duquette, Manager, Financial Services provided comments on the feasibility of electronic utility billing.

The meeting was recessed at 12:04 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 1:01 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

F. CLOSING REMARKS

F.1 High-level Summary of the Proposed 2022 Budget

Presented by Andrew Hayes, Director, Financial, Assessment and Procurement Services.

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 500/21: That Council endorse the 2022 Capital Budget allocations, to be approved by Council at a future Council meeting upon conclusion of 2022 Budget Deliberations.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The meeting was recessed at 2:01 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 2:15 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

G. DELIBERATIONS

The meeting was recessed at 2:26 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 3:02 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

H. ADJOURNMENT

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 501/21: That Council adjourn the Council meeting at 3:44 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MAYOR
 COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO)