

# **Sturgeon County**

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

# Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Council

Tuesday, June 29, 2021

5:30 PM

**Through Electronic Communications** 

# A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

The following members of Council were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

 7 - Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor Kristin Toms, Councillor Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor Neal Comeau, Councillor Patrick D. Tighe, and Councillor Karen Shaw

#### A.1 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Hnatiw called the Regular Council Meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. and acknowledged that Council meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

#### Administration Present Through Electronic Communication

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO

Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services

Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services

Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning and Development Services

Michael Klassen, Program Lead, Long Range and Regional Planning, Planning and Development Services

Martyn Bell, Program Lead, Current Planning, Planning and Development Services Rachel Davies, Long Range and Environmental Planning Officer, Planning and Development Services

Natasha De Sandi, Planning and Engagement Officer, Planning and Development Services

Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

### A.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

#### K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 386/21: That Council adopt the Council Meeting Agenda as presented.

### **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

# C. PRESENTATIONS/PUBLIC HEARINGS/INTERVIEWS

#### C.1 PUBLIC HEARINGS

**C.1.1** Our Future Valley

5:30 p.m. Public Hearing Re: Bylaw 1557/21 - Sturgeon

Valley Core Area Structure Plan

Mayor Hnatiw opened the Public Hearing at 5:33 p.m. and provided an overview of the Public Hearing process.

Bylaw 1557/21 received first reading at the June 8, 2021 Council meeting.

A Public Hearing was held to hear any submissions for or against Bylaw 1557/21.

The County is the Applicant for this matter.

Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning and Development Services, introduced Bylaw 1557/21.

Martyn Bell, Program Lead, Current Planning, Planning and Development Services, presented Bylaw 1557/21.

Nick Pryce, Director of Planning Services, V3 Companies of Canada, was in attendance to answer questions.

Justin Okerman spoke in opposition to Bylaw 1557/21.

The City of St. Albert provided written questions to Administration which were read into the record by Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

Siobhan Biagi, Tony Pacheco, Franco Sorgiovanni, Marvin Polny, Fabio Coppola, Ed Basaraba, and Pinnacorp Investments Inc., provided written submissions in support of Bylaw 1557/21, which were read into the record by Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

Ron Allen, Mark Wiltzen, Allison Pentelichuk, Justin Okerman, E. Hartman, Dean and Nina Ozanne, Clayton and Melissa Phillips, and Joe and Justine Parrotta provided written submissions in opposition to Bylaw 1557/21, which were read into the record by Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

Mayor Hnatiw closed the Public Hearing at 7:00 p.m.

# I. ADJOURNMENT

#### W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 387/21: That Council adjourn the June 29, 2021 Council Meeting at 7:00 p.m.

# **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

| <br>                      |
|---------------------------|
| MAYOR                     |
|                           |
|                           |
|                           |
|                           |
|                           |
|                           |
| COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO) |