

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Governance & Council Services Committee

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

1:00 PM

Through Electronic Communications

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

All members of the Committee* were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present: 4 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms and Neal Comeau

Absent: 3 - Wayne Bokenfohr (joined at 1:05 p.m.), Patrick D. Tighe and

Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. and acknowledged that the Committee meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

*As per sections 6.3 and 6.6 of Bylaw 1471/20, Governance and Council Services Committee Bylaw, Mayor Hnatiw, Deputy Mayor Derouin, and Councillor Toms are the current voting members of the Committee and Councillor Tighe is the current alternate voting member. Quorum was maintained throughout the meeting.

<u>Administration Present Through Electronic Communication</u>

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO
Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services
Sabrina Duquette, Manager, Financial Services
Jennifer Lavallee, Manager, Corporate Planning and Intergovernmental Services
Jocelyn Pearce, Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services
Trenna Benesocky, Corporate Executive Assistant
Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services
Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 013/21: That the Committee adopt the May 12, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 February 19, 2021 Governance and Council Services

Committee Minutes

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 014/21: That the Committee adopt the February 19, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee Minutes as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Councillor Bokenfohr joined the meeting at 1:05 p.m.

Present: 5 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr

and Neal Comeau

Absent: 2 - Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

B. NEW BUSINESS

B.1 CLOSED SESSION - Rural Municipal Finance

Advocacy

Closed session pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) and section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 015/21: That the Committee move to a closed session at 1:06 p.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) and section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Presented by Reeve Steve Upham, County of St. Paul and Jennifer Lavallee, Manager, Corporate Planning and Intergovernmental Services.

The following members of Administration were also in attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance:

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Sabrina Duquette, Manager, Financial Services; Jocelyn Pearce, Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services, Trenna Benesocky, Corporate Executive Assistant; Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services; and Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 016/21: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 1:36 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 017/21: That the Briefing Note and attachments of item B.1 of the May 12, 2021 Governance and Council Services Meeting agenda remain confidential in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) and section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic and other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B.2 Flag Protocol Policy

Presented by Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services.

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 018/21: That the Committee recommend that Council approve the Flag Protocol Policy as presented at the May 12, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee meeting.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B.3 Council and Committee Meeting Follow Up Action List

Presented by Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services.

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 019/21: That the Committee receive the Council and Committee meeting follow up action list as information.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

D. ADJOURNMENT

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 020/21: That the Committee adjourn the May 12, 2021 Governance and Council Services Committee meeting at 2:08 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

 MAYO
COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAC