

# **Sturgeon County**

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

# Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

1:00 PM

**Through Electronic Communications** 

## A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

All members of the Committee of the Whole were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

**Present:** 6 - Alanna Hnatiw, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr, Neal

Comeau, Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Absent: 1 - Dan Derouin

#### Administration Present through Electronic Means

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO
Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO
Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services
Travis Peter, Director, Development Services
Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services
Scott Rodda, Manager, Family & Community Support Services
Jennifer Lavallee, Intergovernmental Advisor, Planning & Regional Services
Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services
Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

#### A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

#### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 014/20: That the Committee adopt the May 12, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Agenda as amended, with the addition of item B.2 – CLOSED SESSION - Economic Opportunity.

#### A.2 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.2.1 April 28, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting

Minutes

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 015/20: That the Committee adopt the April 28, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes as presented.

#### **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

#### **B. APPOINTMENTS**

B.1 1:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Intermunicipal

Collaboration Frameworks and Recreation Funding

\*\*\*Closed Session pursuant to section 197(2) of the

Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section

24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act\*\*\*

.........

## W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 016/20: That the Committee move to a closed session at 1:03 p.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Presented by Travis Peter, Director, Development Services and Jennifer Lavallee, Intergovernmental Advisor, Development Services.

The following members of Administration were in also attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance: Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO; Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services; Scott Rodda, Manager, Family & Community Support Services; Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services; and Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services.

Councillor Derouin joined the meeting at 1:06 p.m.

#### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 017/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 1:31 p.m.

#### **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

The meeting was recessed at 1:33 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 3:36 p.m. with all those members of the Committee previously noted in attendance.

**B.1** 

1:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION - Intermunicipal
Collaboration Frameworks and Recreation Funding
\*\*\*Closed Session pursuant to section 197(2) of the
Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section
24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and
Protection of Privacy Act\*\*\*

### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 018/20: That the Committee move to a closed session at 3:42 p.m. pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

#### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 019/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 4:11 p.m.

#### **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

#### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 020/20: That the Committee receive the May 12, 2020 Closed Session Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks and Recreation Funding Update as information.

#### CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

#### K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 021/20: That the Briefing Note and attachments of item B.1 of the May 12, 2020 Committee of the Whole meeting agenda remain confidential in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

#### **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

B.2 CLOSED SESSION - Economic Opportunity

#### K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 022/20: That the Committee move to a closed session at 4:16 p.m pursuant to section 197(2) of the Municipal Government Act and in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) and section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic or other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Presented by Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO.

The following members of Administration were also in attendance for the closed session to provide information and/or administrative assistance: Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO; Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services; Travis Peter, Director, Development Services; Sabrina Duquette, Acting Manager, Financial Services; Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services; and Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

#### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 023/20: That the Committee move out of the closed session at 4:36 p.m.

#### **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

#### N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 024/20: That the Committee receive the May 12, 2020 Closed Session Economic Opportunity verbal presentation as information.

#### CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

#### K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 025/20: That the Economic Opportunity presented at the May 12, 2020 Committee of the Whole meeting remain confidential in accordance with section 24 (advice from officials) and section 25 (disclosure harmful to economic or other interests of a public body) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

## C. ADJOURNMENT

## N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 026/20: That the Committee adjourn the May 12, 2020 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting at 4:39 p.m.

MAYO	
COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAC	