BYLAW 1448/19

VOTING STATION BYLAW

STURGEON COUNTY, MORINVILLE, ALBERTA

A BYLAW OF STURGEON COUNTY IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, TO REGULATE VOTING SUBDIVISIONS AND VOTING STATIONS IN GENERAL ELECTIONS AND BY-ELECTIONS.

WHEREAS, the Council of Sturgeon County has passed Bylaw 1032/04 to adopt a modified system of conducting an election as prescribed by Alberta Regulation No. 170/2000 and amendments;

AND WHEREAS, Bylaw 1032/04 allows for more than one voting station in each voting subdivision;

AND WHEREAS, Alberta Regulation No. 170/2000 has been repealed;

AND WHEREAS, section 36(1) of the *Local Authorities Election Act RSA 2000, c. L-21* (the Act) states that an elected authority by resolution, or the returning officer if authorized by resolution of the elected authority, may divide the local jurisdiction into voting subdivisions and may from time to time alter their boundaries but may not alter them between the time of the giving notice of an election and the election day;

AND WHEREAS, section 37(3) of the Act states that an elected authority may pass a bylaw allowing the returning officer of the elected authority to designate more than one voting station for each subdivision and the location of those voting stations for that election;

AND WHEREAS, Council deems it appropriate to authorize the returning officer to divide the local jurisdiction into voting subdivisions and designate more than one voting station for each subdivision;

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of Sturgeon County, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. This Bylaw may be cited as the "Voting Station Bylaw".
- 2. The Returning Officer is authorized to divide the local jurisdiction into voting subdivisions and may from time to time alter their boundaries but may not alter them between the time of the giving notice of an election and the election day for any general election or by-election held after the passing of this bylaw.
- 3. The Returning Officer is authorized to designate more than one voting station for each subdivision and the location of those voting stations for any general election or by-election held after the passing of this bylaw.

repealed.
5. This Bylaw shall come into force upon being passed.
Read for the first time this day of 2019.
Read for the second time this day of 2019.
Read for the third and final time this day of 2019.
MAYOF
COUNTY COMMISSIONER
DATE SIGNED

If any portion of this bylaw is declared invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, then the invalid portion must be severed and the remainder of the bylaw is deemed valid.