



June 4, 2018

Dear:

Mayor Stuart Houston, City of Spruce Grove
Mayor John Stewart, Beaumont
Mayor William Choy, Town of Stony Plain
Mayor Rod Shaigec, Parkland County
Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc
Mayor Ray Ralph, Town of Devon
Mayor Alanna Hnatiw Sturgeon County
Mayor Barry Turner, Town of Morinville
Mayor Rod Frank, Strathcona County
Mayor Cathy Heron, City of St. Albert
Mayor Gale Katchur, City of Fort Saskatchewan
Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County

As you may be aware, our two cities — the City of St Albert and the City of Edmonton — have recently signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to support the creation of a Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC). Now, as we enter phase two of the three-phase implementation plan — the establishment and transition stage — we would like to formally invite you, our regional partners, to sign onto the MOU and join the Regional Transit Services Transition Team.

We have designed the attached MOU on establishing a transit commission between our municipalities to be able to accommodate all regional partners with a governance structure that is fair and equitable to every participating municipality. Our key goal is one we think is supportable by all municipalities in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region: the creation of a unified transit service in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region that delivers efficient and affordable transit options to all of our citizens and improving the movement of people, goods, and services across our growing region. Our hope is that other regional partners will share the vision of a truly regional system, and sign onto the MOU.

As mentioned above, we have identified a three-phase plan for implementation and we are currently in phase two: entity establishment and transition. This phase is really about building the foundation of the RTSC.

As such, it is an ideal time for partners to come to the table and help define what the Commission becomes in terms of scope and delivery of regional services, funding and financial management, and administration and logistics. Phase three is when final route planning, staffing and service operations begin.

We would also like to share some news with you that will help support the creation of a Regional Transit Services Commission. Earlier this year, our two cities formally applied to the Government of Alberta for funding through the Alberta Community Partnership Strategic Initiative component. It is with excitement and optimism that we share with you that the Province has committed \$3.735 million. This will enable us to advance phase two work through the establishment of a transition team to scope the services to be provided, determine funding models, and select a service delivery model. Thanks to this, there is no funding required from your municipality to be a part of the Transition Team.

Also attached is an overview of the three-phase implementation plan. At the inaugural Integrated Transportation and Transit Systems Working Group meeting, hosted by the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board on June 29, we will provide additional information and be available to answer any questions that you, your Councils or your Administrations may have regarding this important initiative.

Sincerely,

Don Iveson Mayor

City of Edmonton

Cathy Heron Mayor

City of St. Albert

C: Heron

Attachments:

Regional Transit Services Commission Memorandum of Understanding Regional Transit Services Commission Three Phase Implementation Plan