

Meeting Minutes - Unadopted

Council

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

9:00 AM

Council Chambers

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

- A.1 CALL TO ORDER
 - Present: 7 Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Councillor Dan Derouin, Councillor Susan Evans, Councillor Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor Neal Comeau, Councillor Patrick D. Tighe, and Councillor Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the February 13, 2018 regular Council Meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

In accordance with Section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, Councillor Tighe was in attendance via teleconference.

Administration Present

Bill Minnes, County Commissioner-CAO Rick Wojtkiw, General Manager, Corporate Support Collin Steffes, General Manager, Integrated Growth Shane Hogan, Acting General Manager, Municipal Services Adam Scharmann, Manager, Information Services Brian Hartman, Manager, Engineering Services Susan Berry, Manager, Community Services Arla Pirtle, Manager, Assessment Services Colin Krywiak, Acting Manager, Planning and Development Services Danielle Figura, Business Strategy Manager, County Commissioner's Office Jodie Jackson, Information Management Team Lead, Information Services Bernice Gordon, Corporate Business Planner, County Commissioner's Office Joanne Onciul, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

D. Derouin MOVED:

Motion 039/18: That the Agenda be adopted as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

A.3 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

A.3.1 January 23, 2018 - Regular Council Meeting Minutes

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 040/18: That the January 23, 2018 regular Council Meeting Minutes be approved as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

C. PRESENTATIONS/PUBLIC HEARINGS/INTERVIEWS

C.1 9:00 a.m. - Len Kozak Presentation

Len Kozak and Carlos Passage, Sturgeon County residents, provided a presentation to Council.

C.2 9:20 a.m. - Sturgeon County Rural Crime Watch Presentation

Bonny Swart, President, and Brian Mullen, Secretary, Sturgeon County Rural Crime Watch Association, provided a presentation to Council.

D. NEW BUSINESS

D.1 2017 Third Tri-Annual Management Report and Year in Review

Presented by Collin Steffes, General Manager, Integrated Growth; Rick Wojtkiw, General Manager, Corporate Support; Shane Hogan, Acting General Manager, Municipal Services; Danielle Figura, Business Strategy Manager, County Commissioner's Office; and Bernice Gordon, Corporate Business Planner, County Commissioner's Office.

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 041/18: That Council approve the 2017 Tri-Annual Management Report and Year in Review.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 042/18: That Council direct Administration to use the report as the basis for efforts during 2018 as well as planning for 2019-2021.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

The meeting was recessed at 10:28 a.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 10:35 a.m.

D.2 Audio and Video Collection Systems Policy

Presented by Adam Scharmann, Manager, Information Services, and Jodie Jackson, Information Management Team Lead, Information Services.

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 043/18: That Council approve the Audio and Video Collection Systems Policy as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **For:**7 A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw
- D.3 Bylaw 1400/18, Community Aggregate Payment Levy Bylaw

Presented by Susan Berry, Manager, Community Services.

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 044/18: That Council give first reading of Bylaw 1400/18, Community Aggregate Payment Levy Bylaw.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

Councillor Evans was not present during the January 9, 2018 public hearing and therefore recused herself for Item D.4 at 10:50 a.m.

D.4 Lafarge and Inland Request for Second Reading and Third Reading Bylaw 1398/17 - Amendment to the Calahoo Villeneuve Sand & Gravel Extraction Area Structure Plan Bylaw 922/01

Presented by Colin Krywiak, Acting Manager, Current Planning and Development Services and Aaron Hair, Planning and Development Officer, Current Planning and Development Services.

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 045/18: That Council give second reading of Bylaw 1398/17.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **For:**6 A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw
- Recused:1 S. Evans

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 046/18: That Council give third reading of Bylaw 1398/17.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:6 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

Recused:1 - S. Evans

D.5 2017 Linear Assessment Year Modifiers

Presented by Arla Pirtle, Manager, Assessment Services and Gerry Gaetz, Senior Industrial Assessor, Assessment Services.

S. Evans MOVED:

Motion 047/18: That Council authorize the Mayor to sign and submit the letter as presented on behalf of Council to the Minister of Municipal Affairs, requesting a plan to ensure a transparent, timely and consistent development of the assessment year modifiers for linear property which supports the position of AAMDC.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **For:**7 A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw
- **D.6** Designated Industrial Property Transitional Regulation

Presented by Arla Pirtle, Manager, Assessment Services.

S. Evans MOVED:

Motion 048/18: That Council authorize the Mayor to sign and submit the letter as presented on behalf of Council to the Minister of Municipal Affairs, requesting to consider adopting retroactive legislation to ensure the integrity of the 2017 Designated Industrial Property assessments.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

D.7 2018 Public Board Member Appointments - Assessment Review Board

Presented by Rick Wojtkiw, Manager, Corporate Support.

S. Evans MOVED:

Motion 049/18: That Council approve the public appointments to the County's Boards and Committees as set out within the updated Attachment 1 and as recommended by the Boards and Committees Selection Committee for terms commencing January 2018.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

E. MAYOR AND COUNCIL

E.1 Councillor Tighe - Motion Re: Council Remuneration

P.D. Tighe MOVED:

Motion 050/18: That Council direct Administration to provide options for a third-party review of Council remuneration in light of the federal government's 2019 change to the tax rules regarding elected official remuneration for the February 27, 2018 regular Council Meeting.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

G. URGENT MATTERS

H. NOTICES OF MOTION

I. ADJOURNMENT

N. Comeau MOVED:

Motion 051/18: That Council adjourn the regular Council Meeting at 11:15 a.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

For:7 - A. Hnatiw, D. Derouin, S. Evans, W. Bokenfohr, N. Comeau, P.D. Tighe, and K. Shaw

MAYOR

COUNTY COMMISSIONER (CAO)