

Sturgeon County

9613-100 Street Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9

Meeting Minutes - Unadopted Committee of the Whole

Wednesday, July 7, 2021

9:00 AM

Through Electronic Communications

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

The following members of the Committee were in attendance through electronic means in accordance with section 199 of the Municipal Government Act, the Meeting Procedures (COVID-19 Suppression) Regulation, and Sturgeon County Procedure Bylaw Amendment 1497/20.

Present:

7 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr,
Neal Comeau, Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Mayor Hnatiw called the July 7, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting to order at 9:02 a.m. and acknowledged that the Committee meets on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples, and in particular the Michel Band and Alexander First Nation, and also recognized the Métis and Inuit, whose footsteps have marked these lands and share a deep rooted history.

Administration Present Through Electronic Communication

Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO

Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services

Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services

Sabrina Duquette, Manager, Financial Services

Lucas Warren, Manager, Corporate Communications

Tyler Westover, Manager, Economic Development Services

Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning and Development Services

Michael Richard, Investment Attraction Lead, Economic Development Services

Arjen DeKlerk, Program Lead, Special Projects and Process Improvement, Planning and Development Services

Carla Williams, Acting Program Lead, Development and Safety Codes, Planning and Development Services

Milad Asdaghi, Strategic Initiatives Lead, Corporate Planning and Intergovernmental Services

Jackie Sargent, Senior Communications Officer, Corporate Communications Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

A.1 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 070/21: That the Committee adopt the July 7, 2021 Committee of the Whole Agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

B. NEW BUSINESS

B.1 Immediate Support for the 2021 Edmonton Airshow

Presented by Tyler Westover, Manager, Economic Development Services and Michael Richard, Investment Attraction Lead, Economic Development Services.

Councillor Comeau left the meeting at 9:22 a.m.

Present: 6 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr,

Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Absent: 1 - Neal Comeau

W. Bokenfohr MOVED:

Motion 071/21: That the Committee recommend to Council that Sturgeon County provide \$100,000 in funding to the Edmonton Airshow, funded through the Economic Development Reserve and contingent on the Airshow securing a minimum of \$300,000 by July 8, 2021 from other regional and provincial funding sources.

CARRIED

For:5 - Mayor Hnatiw, Councillor Derouin, Councillor Toms, Councillor Bokenfohr and Councillor Tighe

Against:1 - Councillor Shaw

Councillor Comeau returned to the meeting at 9:24 a.m.

Present: 7 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Wayne Bokenfohr, Neal Comeau, Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

B.2 Planning and Development Service Improvement and Regulatory Session

Presented by Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services and Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning and Development Services.

Councillor Toms left the meeting at 10:46 a.m.

Councillor Toms returned to the meeting at 10:48 a.m.

Councillor Bokenfohr left the meeting at 11:21 a.m.

Present: 6 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Neal Comeau,

Patrick D. Tighe and Karen Shaw

Absent: 1 - Wayne Bokenfohr

Councillor Shaw left the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

Present: 5 - Alanna Hnatiw, Dan Derouin, Kristin Toms, Neal Comeau and

Patrick D. Tighe

Absent: 2 - Wayne Bokenfohr and Karen Shaw

D. ADJOURNMENT

K. Toms MOVED:

Motion 072/21: That the Committee adjourn the July 7, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting at 11:31 a.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MAYOF
COLINTY COMMISSIONER (CAO